Prestigious Kalinga Literary Festival (KLF) Book Awards 2022 to two Nepal Writers Ranjana Niraula, Sumit Sharma Sameer

New Delhi: Kalinga Literary Festival (KLF) announced KLF Book Awards 2022 in various categories — Non-fiction, Fiction Poetry Book, Book in Hindi language, Book in Translation, Bhasa, Debut Book, Business Book, Environmental Book, Biography/Autobiography, Children Book, Sports Book, Lifestyle and Emerging Trend Books among others. The books were selected from books submitted by publishers all across these categories. The winner will be felicitated and awarded during the annual Kalinga Literary Festival (KLF) which is scheduled to be held on February 24-26, 2023 at Swosti Premium Hotel,  Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India.

Acclaimed writers and their books will be showcased during the event; Sanjeev Sanyal’s book- Revolutionaries: The Other Story of How India Won its Freedom, Kailash Satyarthi’s book – Tum Pehle Kyon Nahi Aaye, Hindol Sengupta’s Sing, Dance and Pray: The Inspirational Story of Srila Prabhupada Founder-Acharya of ISKCON , Ranjit Hoskote’s – Hunchprose , Pravin Kumar’s Amar Desva , Akshaya Mukul’s- Writer, Rebel, Soldier, Lover: The Many Lives of Agyeya and others selected this year KLF Book Awards.

Two Nepal Writers selected by jury for the prestigious KLF Book Awards 2022.  Nepali writer Ranjana Niraula will get KLF Book Awards 2022 for her book “Anubhuti Ko Awataran”, writer Sumit Sharma Sameer’s book “Wake Up Ali…Wake Up Now” selected in Debut Book category.   It should be noted that Noted Nepali Writer, Editor, Critic Ranjana Niraula is a multifaceted personality from Nepal who juggles multiple roles in her daily life with equal panache. From being a popular poet in Nepali and English literature with a penchant to weave magic with her beautiful words and pictures to being a poet, editor, panelist, researcher, philanthropist, Academic, humanist, literary critics, curator to being a speaker, she handles each role with élan and confidence with a sole motive to excel and live up to the high expectations from her legions of fans spread across Nepal as well as the Subcontinent. “Sumit Sharma Sameer is a graduate of the London School of Economic and Political Science, UK and the Queen’s University, Canada. He completed his under-graduation in Sociology from the Loyola college, Chennai, India. ‘Wake up Ali…Wake up Now’, published by Vitasta has been translated from Nepali language is his first work of fiction. Presently, he works as a political adviser with the British Embassy, Kathmandu, Nepal.”

KLF Book Awards, established by KLF in 2021 opens up the opportunities to identify, recognize, acknowledge, encourage and honor the literary talents across genres, for both established and new writers. The objective has been to shape future literary icons. During the KLF Annual Pro-gram at Bhubaneswar (24-26 February 2023), KLF Book Awards will be conferred based on the recommendations of an independent Award Jury.

“We received hundreds of fantastic books and the jury members had a difficult time in choosing the best in each category. The path-breaking and thought-provoking contributions have been identified as the best representatives in their respective categories. The objective of KLF Book Awards have been to contribute to debates and discourses in the national and global literary public sphere and encourage more reflective, thoughtful, and inspiring contributions. Dedicated sessions are planned on these books by the authors and erudite reviewers to enrich the literary and intellectual atmosphere at the Kalinga Literary Festival,” said Rashmi Ranjan Parida, Founder and Director of Kalinga Literary Festival.

KLF Book Awards: Categories & Selected Titles for the year 2022

 KLF Book Award 2022 (Non-fiction) 


-Sanjeev Sanyal’s- Revolutionaries: The Other Story of How India Won its Freedom (HarperCollins)

-Akshaya Mukul’s- Writer, Rebel, Soldier, Lover: The Many Lives of Agyeya (Penguin)


Kailash Satyarthi’s – Tum Pehle Kyon Nahi Aaye –(Rajakamal Prakasahn Samuh)

Akhilesh’s – AKS –(Setu Prakashan Samuh)

KLF Book Award 2022 (Fiction)



-Navtej Sarna’s Crimson Spring (Aleph Book Company)



-Pravin Kumar’s Amar Desva (Radhakrishna Prakashan/ Rajakamal Prakashan Samuh)


KLF Book Award 2022 (Poetry)




-Ranjit Hoskote’s – Hunchprose (Penguin)



-Pankaj Chaturvedi’s -Aakash Mein Ardhachandra (Rukh Prakashan)

KLF Book Award 2022 (Business)


-Piyush Pandey’s Open House (Penguin)

KLF Book Award 2022 – Debut Book


-Farah Bashir’s – Rumours of Spring (HarperCollins)

-Sumit Sharma Sameer’s Wake Up Ali…Wake Up Now (Fiction, Vitasta)

– Pradeep Baishakh Faces of Inequality : Stories of the poor and underprivileged from India’s grassroots- (Notion Press)


KLF Book Award 2022 (Women/Dalit/Tribal/Minorities Literature)

Machhliyan Gayengi Ek Din Pandumgeet- Poonam Vasam (Vani Prakashan)

KLF Book Award 2022 (Children)

-Zarin Virji’s – Gopal’s Gully (Penguin)

KLF Book Award (Lifestyle/Biography/Environment & Emerging Trend)


– Bimal Prasad & Sujata Prasad’s, The Dream of Revolution: A Biography of Jayaprakash Narayan (Penguin)

– Hindol Sengupta’s Sing, Dance and Pray: The Inspirational Story of Srila Prabhupada Founder-Acharya of ISKCON (Penguin)

– Satyajit Ray Miscellany: On Life, Cinema, People & Much More (Penguin)

– Abhay K- The Book of Bihari Literature-Edited- (HarperCollins)

– Rama Shanker Singh – Nadi Putra- (Setu Prakashan Samuh)

KLF Book Award 2022 (Translation)


JADUNAMA: Javed Akhtar’s Journey (English) by Arvind Mandloi Translated by Dr. Rakhshanda Jalil- (Amaryllis; Manjul)

– The Bride: The Maithili Classic Kanyadan By Harimohan Jha Translated by Lalit Kumar (HarperCollins)

KLF Book Award 2022 (Bhasha)

-Nepali: Ranjana Niraula- Anubhuti Ko Awataran – Kathmandu- Nepal (Shikha Books)

-Maithili: Mahendra Malangia’s-  Dak, Ghagh aa Bhaddari (Malangia Arts), New Delhi

-Kannada:  SREENIVASA MURTHY N S.’s Shilpakala Devaaalayakke Daari – Kamla Enteprises, Bangalore

-Odia: KamlaKant Mohapatra’s- Bou Hajila O Milia- 4Corners, Bhubneshwar

-Malayalam: KR Meera- Qabar

Comments are closed.