Seven political parties in Nepal accorded status of National Party: Election Commission

Kathmandu: Nepal’s Election Commission on Friday said seven political outfits, including the newly-floated Rastriya Swatantra Party have been accorded the status of a National Party.

Securing a three per cent of proportional representation vote is mandatory to become a National Party in Nepal. The CPN-UML, Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP), Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Janata Samajbadi Party and Janamat Party have been accorded this status, the Kathmandu Post newspaper quoted Guru Prasad Wagle, spokesperson at Nepal’s Election Commission, as saying.

Six political parties—the Nepali Congress, the CPN-UML, the CPN (Maoist Centre), the CPN (Unified Socialist), the Janata Samajbadi Party and the Loktantrik Samajbadi Party — held the national party status in the last House of Representatives Representatives elected in 2017.

The Nepali Congress has so far bagged 55 seats under the direct election to the House of Representatives to emerge as the single largest party in the parliamentary elections.


Comments are closed.